Log in

Board of Directors

Ellen Brown

Chair, Membership Committee

Co-Chair, Communications Committee

Ellen has been a LSSW member since 2008 and a Board member since 2020. She has almost two decades of non-profit Board experience, managing large, multi-million dollar construction projects for Scripps College and maintaining a fiscally sustainable College organization.

Laura Huser

Immediate Past President

Co-Chair, Communications Committee

Co-Chair, Governance Committee

Laura has been a LSSW member since 2016. She was President in 2020 when the organization transitioned to an all-volunteer Board, and served until 2023. She is a Board-Certified Psychologist in private practice for more than 20 years. She is a sustaining member of the Junior League of Phoenix.

Jayne Lewis

Chair, Author Selection Committee

Jayne has been a member of the LSSW since 2015, and Secretary since 2020. She was most recently Manager of Land Acquisitions at Salt River Project. Prior to that, she was President of the Board of The Centers for Habilitation. For six years she was a member of the Chandler Chamber of Directors.

Lorelei Gonzales

Chair, Finance Committee

Lorelei has been a member of the LSSW since 2021, a Board member since 2022 and Treasurer since 2023. She is a Certified Public Accountant. She has served on a number of Boards including Free Arts of Arizona, National Charity League, Cactus League and Boys Team Charity.

Michele Feeney

Michelle has been a member of the LSSW since 2001 and a Board member since 2019. She practices law as a private mediator/arbitrator. She is Director of Trial Advocacy at the Sandra Day O’Connor School of Law. Her novel, Like Family, will be published in August 2021 by Black Rose Writing.

Mary Beth Herbert

Mary Beth has been a member of the LSSW since 2018 and is a past Treasurer. She owned Mary Beth Herbert & Associates, a financial consulting practice. She has worked with the Phoenix Art Museum for 29 years, most recently with its 21st Century Society to fund the Museum’s endowment.

Mardie Holland

Mardie has been a member of the LSSW since 2019, and a Board member since 2020. She has a background in event planning, marketing and development and previously worked with the Visiting Nurse Association of Somerset Hills in New Jersey.

Genny Matteucci

Genny has been a Literary Society member since 2018, and a Board member since 2019. She is past Executive Director of the Brophy Community Foundation and past President of the Arizona Women’s Board. She served on the Board of Make Way for Books, and is a member of the Garden Club of America and a mentor for Boys Hope Girls Hope.

Jean Nelson
Chair, Events Committee

Jean has been a LSSW member since 2020 and joined the Board in 2023. She was an Insurance Industry executive for several decades. She has been a volunteer mediator with the Maricopa County Justice Court and has served on the Boards of Greer Library Friends and Greer Community Center.

Carrie Ostroski

Chair, Development Committee

Carrie has been a member of the LSSW since 2020, and a board member since 2021. She is the Executive Director of The Dorrance Family Foundation. Carrie served as a board member of Soldier’s Best Friend for seven years and is currently an advisory board member for the MISS Foundation and ASU’s Global Institute of Sustainability.

Nancy Retson

Nancy has been a member of the LSSW since 2016 and a board member since 2020. She was previously associated with the Hyatt Corporation where she specialized in architecture and development. She currently volunteers with Casa Alitas and the Marana Public Schools.

Judy Riley

Judith has been a member of LSSW since 2018 and a board member since 2020. She is a retired physician who specialized in Obstetrics/Gynecology. She served on the clinical faculty in the OB/GYN department at the University of Arizona, where she was also a medical writer for the Cardio Thoracic Surgery Department. Judith has worked with the Mariposa Community Health Center, the Pinal County Health Department and was the director of Family Planning for the Pima County Health Department.

Elizabeth Saba

Chair, Grants Committee

Elizabeth has been a LSSW member since 2012, and a board member since 2022. She previously was a Systems Consulting Manager with Accenture. She serves on the Junior League of Phoenix Board and is active with ARCS Foundation and Brophy College Prep.

Ann Stanton

Co-Chair, Governance Committee

Ann has been a LSSW member since 2020 and a board member since that time. She is Professor Emerita at Arizona State University’s College of Law. She serves as a trustee for the Desert Botanical Garden and is a member of its executive committee . She is past president of the Phoenix Chamber Music Society Board of Directors and a member of Childsplay’s Board of Trustees.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software